Making Democracy Work

LWVKKC Leadership

Executive Committee

President - Linda Maccabe
1st Vice President - Helen Tews
2nd Vice President - Lance McCold
Lance McCold retired after 32 years as a researcher and analyst at Oak Ridge National Laboratory to focus on community service. His special interest is community organizing to promote democracy and economic justice. Democracy works when the people actively participate in community organizations.

Secretary - Candice Gilreath

Treasurer - Joyce Feld
Communications - Jeff Drum


Citizens Academy - Jamey Dobbs
Jamey Dobbs served as LWVKKC President for four years, after 10 years of service as LWVKKC Social Policy Chair, Citizen Education Chair, and as a member of the Land Use committee. Jamey is passionate about the League, and her focus continues to be on building the Citizens Academy and helping citizens learn how government works and how to make change in our community.

Jamey completed a Master's degree in Urban and Regional Planning from the University of Tennessee. During 27 years in Knoxville, she has been active in programs to strengthen childcare, community transportation, full-service community schools and school/government relationships. As League president, she served on the LWVKKC Health Committee, the Support Our Schools/LWVKKC Schools Committee, Together! Healthy Knox, the community coalition pushing to improve community health, and the Knox County Safe Routes to School Task Force.

Land Use & Environment - Mary English

Mary English was a Fellow for Energy and Environmental Policy at the Howard H. Baker Jr. Center for Public Policy and a Senior Fellow at the Institute for a Secure and Sustainable Environment (ISSE), The University of Tennessee, Knoxville. In July 2010, she retired from her position as an ISSE Research Leader. A social scientist, English's career has focused on energy and environmental policy issues. She has served on the Tennessee Air Pollution Control Board and on a number of committees of the National Research Council (NRC). She also has served on the Board on Radioactive Management and Board on Environmental Studies and Toxicology of the NRC, as well as the National Environmental Justice Advisory Council of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. She has a Ph.D. in sociology from the University of Tennessee, an M.S. in regional planning from the University of Massachusetts, and a B.A. in American Literature from Brown University.

Membership - Judy Poulson
Judy originally joined the League of Women Voters in 1965 in Wisconsin. Since moving to Tennessee in 1988, she's been Voter Services chair, newsletter editor, webmaster, president, and membership records chair of the Knoxville/Knox County League. Judy has also been newsletter editor, treasurer, president and secretary of LWVTN and has served one term on the national board. Judy has also been the coordinator of a VITA tax preparation site since 2002 and has been a parliamentarian since 1983. Judy currently represents the LWVKKC on the Knox County Community Action Committee. She also volunteers at the Knoxville Open golf tournament and at her church. In her spare time, Judy enjoys golfing, gardening and reading.

Voter Services Chair - Ann Strange

Ann Strange was raised in California but has lived the last 35 years in Knoxville. She works at Oak Ridge National Laboratory as an Administrative Assistant and has one daughter. She has served as a Big Sister, in the magnet schools' PTA, on the board of Jubilee Community Arts and the Friends of The New Harp of Columbia, and is an engaged member of the Lake Forest Neighborhood Association and the South Knoxville Neighborhood and Business Coalition. She enjoys singing, reading, and hiking the Smokies and Urban Wilderness. She is committed to voter education and the mission of the League of Women Voters.

Committees & Studies


Citizen's Academy - Jamey Dobbs

Land Use & Environment- Mary English

Voter Services - Ann Strange

Off Board Representatives

LWV rep on CAC board: Judy Poulson

Liaison to TN Conservation Voters: Sandra Goss

Liaison to Dow Citizen Advisory Council: Nancy Stewart

Naturalization Ceremony: Lisa Mixon

Database: Crista Cuccaro

Website: Cathy McCaughan